Home Forums Looking for Group Ravenloft Reply To: Ravenloft

Nykrat
Nykrat
Participant

Oblig: That’s actually what I meant by “sharing DM duties” though I didn’t do a very good job explaining it. You run something non-ravenloft and I’ll run ravenloft. When I feel like I’m starting to wear thin or need a break, I’ll ask if you’re ready to start yours up for a session or two. I plan to give a couple of weeks notice, so it wouldn’t be a last minute thing, but we should all definitely have characters prepared for a seamless transition. I’m even cool with a pregen if it’ll make life easier on you.

LT: Sounds good. PH13 describes the Customizing Ability Scores variant and I’m a superfan of that one – let’s use that.

As far as the other parts of character creation goes, I’m going to say let’s stick to whatever’s in the 5e PH/DMG (because I’m still learning the system and don’t want to get overloaded with a glut of 3rd party esoterica). One exception I’ll make is if the material comes from the Fraternity of Shadows website. I’ll allow damn near anything from there because I can trust those guys not to break the setting with laser-beam shooting dragon-cyborg templates.

Is that okay with you two? If you feel strongly about a character concept that you’ve been itching to try out in a gothic fantasy milieu, then please don’t hesitate to run it by me.

You asked about custom backgrounds…I’m a big fan of the idea of an insulated Ravenloft campaign setting. Practically speaking, this means that PCs are native to the place and there is no concrete knowledge of anything beyond the misty boarders.

If you’re looking for inspiration, I’d recommend checking out any of the fantastic gazetteers’ that Arthaus put out a number of years ago or google “ravenloft + [domain name]”.